From a day off, having reached the mid-way point of the 2021 Dakar Rally, to yet another physically and mentally draining day back on her bike! Successfully completing the anything but easy opening leg of the event’s two-part marathon stage, Laia has notched up another stage finish to reach the temporary camp where she will stay the night, away from her team. Securing a 34th place result today, Laia sits 25th in the overall provisional motorcycle class standings and ready to finish the two-day marathon challenge tomorrow.

  • Laia completes long and difficult stage seven
  • Tonight, she sleeps in temporary overnight camp
  • 709-kilometer stage eight lies ahead for Laia

Laia Sanz: “It was a long, difficult day for me today. Honestly, I struggled quite a lot and had some pain in my wrist. I also felt really tired, but I completed the stage and it’s great to be here at the overnight marathon bivouac. Things are getting harder and harder each day – my focus now is just to take things one day at a time and keep pushing towards the finish.”

Making no attempt to hide the fact that she found stage seven seriously tough, Laia once again battled on and completed yet another stage of this year’s rally. Now 100% focused on getting herself and her GASGAS RC 450F to the finish of the event, Laia avoided all risks today and rode with complete commitment to reach the overnight camp tired but one-step closer to the end of the event.

Despite the fact that the first leg of the 2021 Dakar Rally marathon stage was super-tough, the second leg looks to be equally as demanding for Laia and all motorcycle class competitors. With a total distance of 709-kilometers, stage eight will feature a 375-kilometer special stage and serve up yet more tricky navigation!

Results (provisional): Dakar Rally 2021, stage 7
1. Ricky Brabec (Honda) 4:37:44
2. Jose Ignacio Cornejo (Honda) 4:39:51
3. Skyler Howes (KTM) 4:40:03
34. Laia Sanz (GASGAS) 5:31:17

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 7)

1. Jose Ignacio Cornejo (Honda) 28:51:31
2. Toby Price (KTM) 28:51:32
3. Sam Sunderland (KTM) 28:53:42
25. Laia Sanz (GASGAS) 31:57:06