GASGAS Factory Racing’s Daniel Sanders has claimed a solid third place finish on stage four of Rally Kazakhstan. Posting his best result of the rally so far, the sandy terrain combined with Sanders’ strong navigational skills allowed the Australian to put his best foot forward, get on the gas, and end the special as one of the leading riders. Daniel’s result elevates him to sixth in the overall provisional classification with just one day of racing to go.

  • Sanders comes good on Rally Kazakhstan stage four
  • Aussie racer advances to sixth in the provisional standings
  • Sanders and his RC 450F in good shape ahead of final stage

Daniel Sanders: “That’s stage four done and dusted and I’m really happy to finish third. I rode with Matthias Walkner for a while, which was good, and after the fuel stop we finally hit some proper sand dunes. When we got into them I was able to pass Walkner, and then I passed Skyler Howes not long afterwards, so I knew my pace was good. I could then ride in clean air and I was really happy with my riding today. Today’s stage was a lot like what we have at the Dakar so it was fun to be back in the sand and I’m looking forward to more of the same tomorrow.”

Putting his excellent sand riding skills to good use, Sanders delivered his best result of the rally so far, pleased he could finally show everyone what he’s really capable of. Completing the special a little over four minutes behind stage winner Skyler Howes is an excellent result ahead of the final day of racing.

Tomorrow brings the fifth and final stage of Rally Kazakhstan. With today’s great result moving Sanders up the leaderboard to sixth, there’s now just a 267km special separating him from the event’s finish line, just north of Aktau on the coast of the Caspian Sea.

Results (provisional): Rally Kazakhstan 2021, stage 4

1. Skyler Howes (Husqvarna) 3:26:48
2. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 3:29:01
3. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 3:30:54

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 4)

1. Ross Branch (Yamaha) 13:18:04
2. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 13:22:09
3. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha)13:27:28
6. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 13:49:14