We’re now five stages into Dakar 2024 and Red Bull GASGAS Factory Racing’s Daniel Sanders has come out swinging today on the short but intense special to post the fourth-fastest time. Even with a couple of small falls in the sand dunes, Chucky secured his best result of the event so far, finishing less than three minutes behind the provisional stage winner. The impressive result sees the Aussie re-enter the top-10 overall in ninth position.

  • Sanders on the gas through Dakar stage five to post the fourth-fastest time
  • Red Bull GASGAS star re-enters the top-10 overall in ninth
  • All-new, 48-hour chrono stage up next on the Dakar schedule

It’s been a somewhat steady start for Daniel Sanders at Dakar 2024 but that all changed on stage five. Clearly enjoying the sandy terrain, which actually caught him out a couple of times when he tipped over with his RX 450F, the hard-charging Aussie would clock in as the fourth-fastest rider.

And it’s an important result for Sanders as the sixth special features an all-new stage concept. Taking place over two days and with the starting order reversed for the RallyGP class riders, Chucky is primed to take advantage of a favorable starting position into the super-long special. And with a total distance of 626 kilometers to cover against the clock, Sanders is perfectly placed to reel in the leading riders on stage as well as in the overall classification.

Daniel Sanders: “A little bit better today. It was hot out there and the stage was short and fast with a lot of sandy drops. I had a couple of small crashes, which tested the old leg out, and it was all good. I felt great on the bike today, too. It’s the big stage up next and I hope the weather is a little bit cooler than today because it’s going to be a long day. For now though, I’m going to be rehydrating and refueling myself in preparation for tomorrow.”

Provisional Results: Dakar Rally 2024, stage 5
1. Pablo Quintanilla (Honda) 1:32:53
2. Adrien Van Beveren (Honda) 1:33:30
3. Toby Price (KTM) 1:34:32
4. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 1:35:51

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 5)
1. Ross Branch (Hero) 19:05:03
2. Jose Ignacio Cornejo (Honda) 19:06:17
3. Ricky Brabec (Honda) 19:08:50
9. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 19:42:47