As the lone rider for the Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/GASGAS Factory Racing squad, all eyes were on Northern California’s own Michael Mosiman as he lined up in front of his hometown crowd at the Hangtown Motocross Classic in Sacramento, California. Mosiman all but delivered a podium result in the first moto but he had an unfortunate run-in with another rider while going for the podium pass. He fought hard to come back from a bad start in Moto 2, where he ultimately ended up with a top-10 overall at the final round of the AMA Pro Motocross Championship.

  • Mosiman finished eighth-overall in the 250MX Championship despite missing three rounds with injury
  • Mosiman took the MC 250F to four moto-podiums and four top-fives this season
  • Justin Barcia and Pierce Brown are healing up and prepared to get on the gas in 2022

Mosiman: “It was a rough day if you look at the results sheet but I’m going to remember it as a lesson and not a loss. We have learned a lot in these last few rounds and we’ve got so much to build on. I’m excited, happy and proud of the team. I’m becoming a champion and they are becoming a championship team and it’s just cool to see the culture and myself change over these last few rounds. When I was out, I thought maybe I would race the last round and here I am three rounds in with a couple moto-podiums and the expectation has changed all-around. I’m excited to rest up and have a good off-season and I’m going to come out really sharp for next year.”

Mosiman got off to an eighth-place start in Moto 1 but he put on an early climb to land his MC 250F in the fourth-place spot a few laps into the race. Setting himself up for a podium pass just after the mid-way point, Mosiman unfortunately found himself on the ground after coming together with the third-place rider. Re-mounting in 11th, it was all he could do to finish just outside the top-10 in the first moto.

Moto 2 started off a bit slow with a 12th place start but Mosiman found his groove early on to steadily climb into the top-10 mid-way through. He maintained seventh for a few laps before climbing into sixth with three laps to go, but a couple mistakes dropped him back to an eighth place in the race. With combined moto scores of 11-8, Mosiman secured 10th overall at the final round and he finished eighth in the class championship.

Team riders Justin Barcia and Pierce Brown are taking the time to heal up from injury as they set their sights on getting on the gas in 2022.

Results – 2021 AMA Pro Motocross Championship, Round 12

250MX – Overall

1. Justin Cooper (Yamaha); 2. Jo Shimoda (Kawasaki); 3. RJ Hampshire (Husqvarna) … 10. Michael Mosiman (GASGAS); 13. Derek Kelley (GASGAS); 17. Austin Black (GASGAS); 18. Ty Masterpool (GASGAS); 25. TJ Uselman (GASGAS); 38. Mason Olson (GASGAS)

250MX – Moto 1

1. Justin Cooper (Yamaha) 15 laps; 2. RJ Hampshire (Husqvarna) +3.570; 3. Hunter Lawrence (Honda) +7.724 … 11. Michael Mosiman (GASGAS); 12. Derek Kelley (GASGAS); 15. Ty Masterpool (GASGAS); 18. Austin Black (GASGAS); 26. TJ Uselman (GASGAS)

250MX – Moto 2

1. Justin Cooper (Yamaha) 15 laps; 2. Jo Shimoda (Kawasaki) +3.024; 3. Jett Lawrence (Honda) +9.626 … 8. Michael Mosiman (GASGAS); 14. Derek Kelley (GASGAS); 18. Austin Black (GASGAS); 21. TJ Uselman (GASGAS); 29. Mason Olson (GASGAS); 37. Ty Masterpool (GASGAS)

450MX – Overall

1. Dylan Ferrandis (Yamaha); 2. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki); 3. Cooper Webb (KTM) … 20. Jacob Runkles (GASGAS); 21. Zack Williams (GASGAS); 25. Colby Copp (GASGAS)

450MX – Moto 1

1. Dylan Ferrandis (Yamaha) 16 laps; 2. Ken Roczen (Honda) +12.022; 3. Cooper Webb (KTM) +21.926 … 15. Jacob Runkles (GASGAS); 20. Colby Copp (GASGAS); 26. Zack Williams (GASGAS)

450MX – Moto 2

1. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki) 15 laps; 2. Cooper Webb (KTM) +5.8; 3. Dylan Ferrandis (Yamaha) +16.519 … 17. Zack Williams (GASGAS); 28. Colby Copp (GASGAS); 36. Jacob Runkles (GASGAS)

Championship Standings – After Round 12


1. Dylan Ferrandis (Yamaha) 531pts; 2. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki) 458; 3. Ken Roczen (Honda) 446 … 9. Justin Barcia (GASGAS) 239


1. Jett Lawrence (Honda) 497pts; 2. Justin Cooper (Yamaha) 491; 3. Hunter Lawrence (Honda) 381 … 8. Michael Mosiman (GASGAS) 252; 15. Ty Masterpool (GASGAS) 166; 18. Pierce Brown (GASGAS) 126