The building process continues for Daniel Sanders at Rally Kazakhstan. Completing the second leg of the event’s marathon stage as the ninth fastest rider, he maintains his seventh-place position in the event’s overall provisional classification. With two days of racing to go and with Sanders only three days into just his third ever rally, every stage is providing valuable experience for our young Aussie.

  • Sanders and his GASGAS RC 450F successfully complete marathon stage
  • Aussie racer maintains his seventh-place position in the provisional standings
  • Daniel Sanders continues to learn the ropes of rally racing on stage three

Daniel Sanders: “It was another fast one today. I’m getting there with the high speed, hardpack conditions and it’s still only my third ever rally so I can’t be too disappointed. It’s not quite where I want to be, but I know that I need to have some patience and this is a learning year for me. I know it’ll all come good so it’s just a case of taking it step-by-step, day-by-day and we’ll soon be up there with the front guys.”

Stage three was the longest of the rally at 332 kilometers with Daniel racing across the desert for close to four hours! Going on to complete the special stage just under 12 minutes behind the winner, after such a long time in the saddle Daniel delivered another solid result. With two stages remaining, there’s still plenty of time for the Aussie to rocket his way up the leaderboard.

With tomorrow’s penultimate stage taking place on sandy terrain, it’s Sanders’ chance to shine. As the ninth rider to enter the special, he’ll be able to get on the gas from the start of the 309-kilometer stage and follow in the wheel tracks of the leading riders. After that, just one day of racing remains!

Results (provisional): Rally Kazakhstan 2021, stage 3

1. Sam Sunderland (KTM) 3:38:18
2. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 3:40:26
3. Ross Branch (Yamaha) 3:41:48
9. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 3:50:03

Overall Provisional Classification (after stage 3)

1. Ross Branch (Yamaha) 9:45:46
2. Adrien Van Beveren (Yamaha) 9:52:13
3. Matthias Walkner (KTM) 9:53:08
7. Daniel Sanders (GASGAS) 10:18:20